• Concerto No. 1 for Clarinet & Orchestra-1st movement.mp32:46
  • Concerto No. 1 for Clarinet & Orchestra-2nd movement.mp31:01
  • Concerto No. 1 for Clarinet & Orchestra-3rd movement.mp31:21

Mike holds a degree in clarinet performance from the world-renowned Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY, where he also studied conducting.  He is an Adjunct Instructor of Clarinet and Instrumental Conducting at Randolph-Macon College and maintains a private clarinet studio of elementary and high school students. Mike regularly performs with several local ensembles including the Richmond Symphony, and is the founder and Artistic Director for the chamber music ensemble Crescendo.  Also a fan of the theater, he performed in the pit for several recent productions by the Richmond Triangle Players, including "Grey Gardens," "Sondheim on Sondheim," "Yank" and the sold-out run of "Cabaret."

An accomplished conductor, Mike is the Music Director of the Central Virginia Wind Symphony, a group of the most talented high school musicians in Central Virginia, and has served as Assistant Conductor for the Richmond Philharmonic and the University of Richmond Symphony Orchestra, as well as Music Director of the Capital City Summer Wind Band.  A strong advocate for music education in our schools, Mike is a clarinet instructor for the Colonial Forge Sound & Guard in Stafford County, and has served as woodwinds coach for the Deep Run Marching Wildcats, Lee-Davis Marching Confederates, JR Tucker Marching Tigers and the Cosby Titan Band.

  • Quintet for Clarinet & Strings-4th movement2:41

(check back for updates)


Friday, February 28th at 8:00pm
Saturday, February 29th at 8:00pm
Sunday, March 1st at 2:00pm
Westminster Presbyterian Church

Capitol Opera Richmond presents Mozart's "The Marriage of Figaro"

Wednesday, April 8th at 7:30pm
Camp Concert Hall, University of Richmond

UR Symphony Orchestra
Music of Mendelssohn, Saint-Saens and Gershwin

Meteorologist, Musician, Classical Music Host


Anton Reicha:  Clarinet Quintet, 4th movement
Crescendo: Mike Goldberg & Friends

Carl Maria von Weber: Concerto No. 1 in F minor for Clarinet & Orchestra
Michael Goldberg, Clarinet
Richmond Philharmonic
Robert Mirakian, Conductor